Eighth Academy Awards

The 8th Academy Awards were held on March 5, 1936, at the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles, California. The awards were hosted by Frank Capra. It was the first year the gold statuettes were called “oscars”. The origin of the name is disputed. Bette Davis claimed she named it after her husband, the Academy’s Executive Secretary claimed she named it after her Uncle Oscar. The Academy officially adopted the name in 1939. In 1936, Mutiny on the Bounty became the last film to win Best Picture and nothing else.

Outstanding Production: Mutiny on the Bounty (1935)

Best Director: John Ford, The Informer (1935)

Best Actor: Victor McLaglen for the Informer (1935)

Best Actress: Bette Davis, Dangerous (1935)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s